(Because I’m reading The Dream Thieves right now [aka the moment i wrote this which is about three days prior to posting this] and it made me feel slightly human)

these are the things that make me: 

sunsets, and good books, and wind in my hair. working, and losing, and cutting my own hair. dog kisses, and tv marathons, and eating like a normal person would when i could think it in me to put food in my stomach.

these are the things that make me:

the feeling of feeling, and knowing you’re feeling something. the feeling of belonging somewhere–if only for a second or a glimpse or a sniff from a slightly ajar door. the feeling of knowing you’re human, despite the emptiness and numbness and nothingness that lives in you. the feeling of feeling that maybe, maybe, maybe you can belong somewhere–even in a world of fiction, even if only for a moment.

these are the things that make me:

the feeling of wind against your hair, of slaps across your face, of metaphorical anchors weighing down your chest. the feeling of going through the ebb and the flow of the things in the universe you essentially don’t belong to but do (and you know for a fact, without question, that you do), even if only for a moment.

hugs from dear friends, real conversations with real people, “good morning”s from people you barely spend time with, and the moments of short-lived belonging-ness in made up universes and made up people: these are the things that make me.


(photo from Tiffany’s I Just Wanna Dance music video)

Leave a Reply

